Skip to main content
To see results related to specific areas of interest or thematic orientation, select one or more of the following:

Matthew Andrews Teaching Associate Professor and Departmental Adviser
515 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: M 1:30-2:30 pm, T 3:30-5:00 pm, R 3:30-5:00 pm
andrewsm@email.unc.edu

Karen Auerbach Associate Professor; Ambassador Stuart E. Eizenstat Scholar in Jewish History
kauerbach@unc.edu

Cemil Aydin Professor
465 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30pm
caydin@email.unc.edu

William L. Barney Professor
462 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: by appointment
wbarney@email.unc.edu

W. Fitzhugh Brundage William Umstead Distinguished Professor
511 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: M 9:30-11:30am and by appointment
brundage@email.unc.edu

Chad Bryant Professor
468 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: By appointment
bryantc@email.unc.edu

Marcus Bull Andrew W. Mellon Distinguished Professor of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
471 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: M 11:00 am - 12:00 pm and W 12:30-2:30pm, by appointment
mgbull@email.unc.edu

Joseph W. Caddell Teaching Associate Professor
409 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: TR 3:00-4:30 pm and by appointment
caddellj@email.unc.edu

Claude A. Clegg III Lyle V. Jones Distinguished Professor; Joint appointment in African, African American, and Diaspora Studies
210 Battle Hall
919-962-2347
cclegg@email.unc.edu

Peter A. Coclanis Albert Ray Newsome Distinguished Professor; Director, Global Research Institute
419 Hamilton Hall
919-843-6300
coclanis@unc.edu

Kathleen DuVal Professor
466 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours: MW 2:30-4:00 pm and by appointment
duval@email.unc.edu

Raquel Escobar Postdoctoral Fellow, Carolina Postdoctoral Program for Faculty Diversity
Pauli Murray 509
Raquel.Escobar@unc.edu

Erik Gellman Professor
2024-2025 Honors Thesis Director
Pauli Murray Hall 469
Office Hours: TR 11:00 am - 1:00 pm (in person or Zoom) and by appointment
(Please email to confirm in advance Zoom or in-person meeting.)
egellman@unc.edu

Joseph T. Glatthaar Stephenson Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of the Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
504 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: 10:30 am - 12:00 pm and by appointment
jtg@email.unc.edu

Jennifer Grayson Assistant Professor
Office Hours: T/TR
jgrayso@unc.edu

Henry Gruber Assistant Professor
Pauli Murray 506
Office Hours: T/W/R 2:00 - 3:00 PM
hgruber@unc.edu

Karen Hagemann James G. Kenan Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of the Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
562 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: T/R 11:00 am - 12:00 pm via Zoom or by email appointment
hagemann@unc.edu

Antwain K. Hunter Assistant Professor
Hamilton Hall 421
On Leave Spring 2024
antwain.hunter@unc.edu

Jerma A. Jackson Associate Professor
512 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours
jaj@email.unc.edu

Konrad H. Jarausch Lurcy Professor of European Civilization
502 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:30pm or by appointment
jarausch@email.unc.edu

Lauren Jarvis Assistant Professor
Pauli Murray Hall 501
Office Hours: W 1:00-2:30pm, F 9:15-10:45 am and by appointment
ljarvis@email.unc.edu

Michelle King Associate Professor
DEI Director
475 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours: T/R 3:30-4:30 pm, W 2:00-3:00 pm
mtking@email.unc.edu

Lloyd S. Kramer Professor and Director of Carolina Public Humanities
455 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30 pm and by appointment
lkramer@unc.edu

Miguel La Serna Professor and Department Chair
566 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours: T 9:30-11:00am and by appointment
laserna@email.unc.edu

Klaus W. Larres Richard M. Krasno Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of the Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
416 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: On Leave Spring 2024
larres@unc.edu

Wayne E. Lee Bruce W. Carney Distinguished Professor
400 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: TR 900-10:30 am and by appointment
wlee@unc.edu

James L. Leloudis Professor; Peter T. Grauer Associate Dean for Honors Carolina; Director, James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence
225 Graham Memorial Hall
Office Hours: T 3:30-5:00 pm and W 12:30-2:00pm
leloudis@unc.edu

Lisa A. Lindsay Professor
513 Pauli Murray [Hamilton] Hall
Office Hours: On Leave Spring 2024
lalindsa@email.unc.edu

Terence McIntosh Associate Professor
472 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: MWF 11:15 am - 12:05 pm
terence_mcintosh@unc.edu

Michael Cotey Morgan Associate Professor
Hamilton Hall 424
Office Hours: W 11:00am-2:00pm. Please make an appointment here.
morgan@unc.edu

Susan Dabney Pennybacker Chalmers W. Poston Distinguished Professor of European History
507 Pauli Murray Hall
On Leave Spring 2024
pennybac@email.unc.edu

Louis A. Pérez, Jr. J. Carlyle Sitterson Professor
550 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: R 2:00 - 4:00 pm and by appointment
(919)962-3943
perez@email.unc.edu

Morgan Pitelka Bernard L. Herman Distinguished Professor
301 New West, CB# 3267 Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Office Hours: M 11:30 am - 12:30 pm and F 1:30 - 2:30 pm (New West 301)
(919) 843-5561
Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Profile
mpitelka@unc.edu

Cynthia Radding Gussenhoven Distinguished Professor of Latin American Studies; Professor of History
Hamilton Hall 516
Office Hours: W 11:00am-1:00pm and by appointment (in person or via Zoom)
radding@email.unc.edu

Donald M. Reid Professor
554 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: M 2:00 - 5:00 pm and by appointment
dreid1@email.unc.edu

Daniel J. Sherman Lineberger Distinguished Professor of Art and History (Joint appointment with Art History)
109 Hanes Art Center
Office Hours: M 2:30-4:00 pm (Hanes Art Center 109) and by appointment
dsherman@email.unc.edu

Sarah D. Shields Professor
467 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours: On Leave Spring 2024
sshields@email.unc.edu

Ana María Silva Campo Assistant Professor
418 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30 pm and by appointment
anasilva@unc.edu

Jay M. Smith Professor
564 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours: R 12:00-1:45pm
Or by appointment on Zoom: https://unc.zoom.us/j/98631334739
jaysmith@email.unc.edu

John Wood Sweet Professor
521 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: Th 3:15 - 4:15 pm and by appointment
sweet@unc.edu

Eren Tasar Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies
464 Pauli Murray Hall
etasar@email.unc.edu

Michael Tsin Associate Professor
Earl N. Phillips Jr. Distinguished Professor of International Studies
460 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: R 3:00-4:30pm and by appointment
tsin@email.unc.edu

Katherine Turk Associate Professor
Adjunct Associate Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies
500 Pauli Murray Hall
On Leave Spring 2024
kturk@email.unc.edu

Benjamin Waterhouse Associate Professor
Faculty Director, Office of Distinguished Scholarships
Associate Chair and Director of Undergraduate Studies
473 Pauli Murray Hall
Office Hours: MW 10:00am-11:30am
waterhou@email.unc.edu

Brett E. Whalen Professor
Director of Departmental Outreach
Honors Thesis Director
457 Hamilton Hall
Office Hours: Th 11:30am - 2:30pm and by appointment
bwhalen@email.unc.edu

Molly Worthen Associate Professor
Hamilton Hall 407
Office Hours: On Leave Spring 2024
mworthen@unc.edu