Increase font size
Decrease font size


La Serna wins ACLS Collaborative Research Grant Awardmigueldelaserna

Miguel La Serna and Duke University anthropologist Dr. Orin Starn sought an American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) grant to write a complete history of Peru’s Shining Path insurgency. La Serna and Starn’s book, The Last Revolution: Shining Path and the War of the End of the World, will document the rise and fall of the Peru Shining Path Maoist guerilla group in the final decades of the twentieth century. The book is under contract with W.W. Norton & Company. La Serna and Starn’s access to voices not yet fully explored in academia will provide insights and understandings into the Shining Path group’s actions, as well as adding to the understanding of the logic of collective violence. The aim of this fellowship program is to offer small teams of two or more scholars the opportunity to collaborate intensively on a single, substantive project.

Matthew Andrews’ Fall HIST 120 Course Filmed for C-SPAN’s Lectures in History Program

andrewsCheck out this episode of Lectures in History from American History TV on C-SPAN. In his Fall History 120 course, Matthew Andrews talked about how the racial tensions of the 1980s were reflected in the sports of the era, particularly when white and black athletes faced off in boxing matches and basketball games. He argued that athletes became symbols around which conversations and disagreements over racial issues took place. This episode aired on C-SPAN over the weekend and is now available online. Watch it here!

Q&A with NEH Public Scholar Malinda Lowery


Malinda Lowery, recipient of an NEH Public Scholar grant, is writing a history of the Lumbee Indians. The expected publication date is Fall 2017 with the University of North Carolina Press. She started this project in 2011, and before she received the grant she was drafting an average of one chapter a year, on top of teaching and directing UNC’s Southern Oral History Program. Now, “thanks to the National Endowment for the Humanities program and to the university’s generous support”, she can “produce something not only worth writing, but worth reading”. Read the Q&A with Malinda here.

Print Friendly