Skip to main content
2017-2018 History Honors graduating class with Honors Director, Professor Kathleen DuVal. Front row, left to right: Emma Watts, Rebekah Cockram, Jimmy Messmer, Jeremy Howell 2nd row, left to right: Sophie Rupp, Lacey Hunter, Olivia Holder, Professor Kathleen Duval, Mary Grady Bell, Sydney Bezanson, Katherine Cayton 3rd row, left to right: Alexander Peeples, Michael Purello, Matthew McKnight, Jacob Bell and Michael Sanders

Each year, a select group of undergraduate students enrolls in the History Senior Honors Thesis program that culminates in the writing of a substantial, original, and polished piece of historical research. If you plan to go to graduate school in history, to attend law school, to work in public history or if you simply cannot get enough of historical research and writing, this might be the program for you.

Every year, at the beginning of the spring semester, the department invites the application of rising seniors who have an overall academic average of 3.3 or better, who have an average of 3.4 or better in history courses, and who will have successfully completed at least one Undergraduate Seminar in History 398. For details on how to apply to the History Senior Honors Thesis program, click here.

The basic structure for the senior honors program is provided by History 691H and 692H, an intensive, two-semester research and writing seminar conducted by the department’s honors director. In addition to weekly seminar meetings, each honors candidate holds regular meetings with an honors adviser, a faculty member with knowledge of the given field.

At the end of the spring semester, the honors prize committee makes the final determinations for Highest Honors and awards the Frank Ryan Prize to the best essay of the year. Awards are normally announced at a year-ending honors lunch celebrating the achievements of the department’s distinguished undergraduates.

Students applying to the thesis program in History are highly encouraged to apply for a SURF grant. Additional sources of funding are available through Honors Carolina and through the History Department’s Boyatt and Kusa awards.

Questions about the History Senior Honors should be directed to the current program director, Marcus Bull (

Honors Theses

2018 Honors Theses

2017 Honors Theses

2016 Honors Theses

2015 Honors Theses

2014 Honors Theses

2013 Honors Theses

2012 Honors Theses