Alumni News & Awards 2012–2013

Increase font size
Decrease font size

Sarah Caroline Thuesen (Ph.D. 2003, James Leloudis), who received three history degrees from UNC, recently published Greater Than Equal: African American Struggles for Schools and Citizenship in North Carolina, 19191965 (UNC Press, 2013). In her book, Thuesen looks that the struggle made by blacks in North Carolina for equal educational opportunities while segregated schools thrived.

Stacy Braukman‘s (Ph.D. 1999, Jacquelyn Hall) Communists and Perverts under the Palms: The Johns Committee in Florida, 1956–1965 (Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2012) received the 2013 Willie Lee Rose Prize from the Southern Association for Women Historians and was among the 25th Annual Lambda Literary Award finalists. Her book has already received the Florida Historical Society’s 2013 Rembert Patrick Book Award, given to the past year’s best book on a scholarly topic in Florida history. Since the book’s publication, Braukman has been contacted by individuals whose lives were impacted by the Johns Committee‘s efforts to weed out communist and homosexual activity between 1956 and 1965, and is making plans to conduct oral history interviews with them to document their experiences. Braukman has forged a career as a writer and editor with extensive experience in development, academic, and nonprofit communications.

Jonathan Hancock (Ph.D. 2013, Kathleen DuVal) has accepted a tenure-track assistant professorship at Hendrix College in Arkansas.

Ricky Law (Ph.D. 2012, Christopher R. Browning and W. Miles Fletcher) has accepted a tenure-track assistant professorship at Carnegie-Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Bonnie Lucero (Ph.D. 2013, Louis Pérez) has accepted a tenure-track assistant professorship at the University of Texas-Panamerican.

Jen Lynn (Ph.D. 2013, Karen Hagemann) has a tenure-track assistant Professorship in the department of history at Montana State University Billings and will become the director of the university’s new program in Women’s and Gender Studies.

Michael Meng (Ph.D. 2008, Christopher Browning) has in the past month won both the Hans Rosenberg Prize of the Central European Hiistory Society and the Laura Shannon Prize of the Nanovic Institute for European Studies at the University of Notre Dame for Shattered Spaces: Encountering Jewish Ruins in Postwar Germany and Poland (Harvard University Press, 2011). His dissertation, on which the book is based, previously won both the Dykstra Award here at UNC and the Frtiz Stern Prize of the German Historical Institute.

Steve Milder (Ph.D. 2012, Konrad Jarausch) is currently teaching at Duke University.

Richards Plavnieks (Ph.D. 2012, Christopher Browning) has accepted a one-year position at Rollins College in Florida.

Laura Premack (Ph.D. 2013, John C. Chasteen and Lisa A. Lindsay) will continue her two-year position as Andrew W. Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in Africana Studies and Latin American Studies at Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine.

Jeff Richey (Ph.D. 2013, John C. Chasteen) has accepted an appointment as Assistant Professor of Latin American History at Weber State University in Utah.

Sarah Thomsen Vierra (Ph.D. 2011, Konrad Jarausch) is an Assistant Professor of History at New England College in Henniker, NH. Her dissertation was a co-winner of the Fritz Stern Dissertation Prize 2012, given by the American Friends of the German Historical Institute, and received an honorable mention for the Parker Schmitt Dissertation Award of the European History Section of the Southern Historical Association.

Montgomery Wolf (Ph.D. 2008, Peter Filene) is teaching American history at the University of Georgia. She has received a Fulbright Core Award to teach and research in Benin for the 2013–2014 academic year. She will teach American Studies at l’Université d’Abomey-Calavi while researching Beninois Afrobeat and other popular musics.

Alumni News & Awards 2011–2012

Print Friendly, PDF & Email