Faculty

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

Robert C. Allen

Professor

312 Greenlaw │ 919.962.5165 │ rallen@email.unc.edu

Primary appointment in American Studies


karen_auerbach-profile1Karen Auerbach

Assistant Professor and Stuart E. Eizenstat Fellow
Modern Jewish History
• East European Jewish History
• Polish History

412 Hamilton Hall │ kauerbach@unc.edu


Cemil Aydin

Associate Professor
Global Intellectual History of Muslim Societies
• Histories of the Ottoman Empire and the
Japanese Empire
• Non-Eurocentric International History

424 Hamilton Hall │ caydin@email.unc.edu


William L. Barney

Professor

462 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5584 │ wbarney@email.unc.edu

 


W. Fitzhugh Brundage

William Umstead Distinguished Professor; Department Chair

560 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.9824 │ brundage@email.unc.edu

 


Chad Bryant

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies
• Modern East-Central Europe
• Urban History
• Nationalism 

468 Hamilton Hall │ bryantc@email.unc.edu


Marcus Bull

Andrew W. Mellon Distinguished Professor of Medieval and Early Modern Studies; Director, Program in Medieval and Early Modern Studies

471 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5544 │ mgbull@email.unc.edu


Melissa M. Bullard

Professor
Italian Renaissance and Early Modern Europe
• Economic and Cultural History
• Atlantic World

458 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5585 │ mbullard@email.unc.edu


Burns CropKathryn J. Burns

Professor
Colonial Latin American History
• Andean and Iberian Atlantic History
• History of Women and Gender

465 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.6618 │ kjburns@email.unc.edu


Flora Cassen

Assistant Professor; JMA and Sonja Van der Horst Fellow in Jewish History and Culture
Early Modern Europe
• Renaissance
• Jewish History

469 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5437 │ fcassen@email.unc.edu


John C. Chasteen

Professor
Nineteenth-Century Latin America
• Global History of Alcohol and Drugs
• Writing and Translation in the Historian’s Craft

514 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5433  │ chasteen@email.unc.edu


Peter A. Coclanis

Albert Ray Newsome Distinguished Professor; Director, Global Research Institute
U.S. Economic History
• Southeast Asian Economic History

International Economic History

419 Hamilton Hall │ coclanis@unc.edu


Kathleen DuVal

Associate Professor
• Early North America
• Native America
• Women’s and Gender History

466 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5545 │ duval@email.unc.edu


William R. Ferris

Joel R. Williamson Eminent Professor of History; Senior Associate Director, Center for the Study of the American South; Adjunct Professor in the Curriculum in Folklore
Blues
Southern Music
• Southern Literature and Folklore

Love House and Hutchins Forum │ 410 East Franklin Street │ 919.962.0519 │ wferris@unc.edu


Emma Jane Flatt

Assistant Professor
Medieval and Early Modern South Asia    
• Gender and Cultural History

418 Hamilton Hall │ eflatt@email.unc.edu

 


W. Miles Fletcher

Professor
Modern Japanese History
• Business and Economic History

453 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5577 │ wmfletch@email.unc.edu


Joseph T. Glatthaar

Stephenson Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of the Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
American Civil War
• U.S. Military History

504 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3974 │ jtg@email.unc.edu


Karen Hagemann

James G. Kenan Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of the Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
Modern German and European History
• Women’s and Gender History
• History of Military and War

566 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3960 │ hagemann@unc.edu


Reginald F. Hildebrand

Associate Professor with Joint Appointment in African & Afro-American Studies

410-H Alumni Hall │ 919.962.3537 │ hildebra@email.unc.edu

 


Jerma A. Jackson

Associate Professor

512 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.8084 │ jaj@email.unc.edu


Konrad-2-755Konrad H. Jarausch

Lurcy Professor of European Civilization
Modern Germany
• Modern Europe

502 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.8083 │ jarausch@email.unc.edu

 


John Kasson, History, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel.John F. Kasson

Professor of History and American Studies
United States Cultural History

473 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5004 │ jfkasson@email.unc.edu

 


Michelle King

Associate Professor
Late Imperial and Modern China
• Women’s and Gender History

475 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5043 │ mtking@email.unc.edu


Lloyd S. Kramer

Professor; Faculty Director of UNC’s Program in the Humanities and Human Values
Intellectual History
• Atlantic History
• Nationalism

455 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5553 │ lkramer@unc.edu


Miguel La Serna

Assistant Professor
• 20th-Century Latin America
• Revolutions and Insurgencies
• Andean History

414 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3970 │ laserna@email.unc.edu

 


klauslarres_022-202x145Klaus W. Larres

Richard M. Krasno Distinguished Professor; Adjunct Professor of the Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
Transatlantic Relations and European
Integration, 20th and 21st Centuries

• The Cold War
• U.S., British, German, French Foreign Policies

416 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.8079 │ k.larres@unc.edu


Wayne E. Lee

Dowd Distinguished Term Professor; Chair, Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
World Military History
• Early Modern North America and British Isles

400 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3973 │ wlee(at)unc.edu


 

James L. Leloudis

Professor; Associate Dean for Honors; Director of the James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence
Poverty
• Civil Rights
• U.S. South Since 1865

518 Hamilton Hall │ 919.843.7754 │ leloudis@email.unc.edu


Lisa A. Lindsay

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Africa
• African Diaspora

521 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.2178 │ lalindsa@email.unc.edu


Malinda Maynor Lowery

Associate Professor; Director of Honors Program; Director, Southern Oral History Program
Native American History
• Oral History
• Southern History

474 Hamilton Hall │ mmaynor@email.unc.edu


220px-De_Merian_Sueviae_124 teeryTerence V. McIntosh

Associate Professor
Late Medieval, Reformation, and Early Modern Germany
• War and Society in Early Modern Europe

472 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3969 │ terence_mcintosh@unc.edu


McNeilGenna Rae McNeil

Professor

415 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.8082 │ mcneilgr@email.unc.edu


Louise McReynolds

Professor; Associate Department Chair
Medieval and Imperial Russia
Cultural Studies

421 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3968 │ louisem@email.unc.edu


Michael Cotey Morgan

Assistant Professor
International History
• History of Human Rights

407 Hamilton Hall │ 919.843.4309 │ morgan@unc.edu


Fred Naiden

Professor; Adjunct Professor of the Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense
Ancient History, Greek
• Ancient Religion and Warfare

417 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3971 │ naiden@email.unc.edu


Susan Dabney Pennybacker

Chalmers W. Poston Distinguished Professor of European History
• Modern Britain and Former British Empire
• Transnational Political Culture

507 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.2925 │ pennybac@email.unc.edu


Louis A. Pérez, Jr.

J. Carlyle Sitterson Professor
Caribbean 
• Cuba

550 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3943 │ perez@email.unc.edu


Cynthia Radding

Gussenhoven Distinguished Professor of Latin American Studies; Professor of History
Colonial Latin America
• Environmental History

513 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5057 │ radding@email.unc.edu


Donald J. Raleigh

Jay Richard Judson Distinguished Professor
Late Imperial Russia
• Soviet Russia
• Middle Eastern Europe

511 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.8077 │ djr@email.unc.edu


Donald M. Reid

Professor
Modern European History
• Labor History

554 Hamilton Hall │ dreid1@email.unc.edu


Iqbal Singh Sevea

Assistant Professor
• Modern South Asia
• Modern Islamic Thought

413 Hamilton Hall │ isevea@email.unc.edu


_MG_0578Daniel J. Sherman

Lineberger Distinguished Professor of Art and History
(Joint appointment with Art History)
• Modern French and European Cultural History
• Memory Studies
• Museum Studies

Hanes Art Center 109│dsherman@email.unc.edu


Sarah D. Shields

Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor

467 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.8078 │ sshields@email.unc.edu


Jay-Smith-11Jay M. Smith

Professor
Old Regime France
• Political Culture
• Aristocratic Identity

564 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3949 │ jaysmith@email.unc.edu


John W. Sweet

Associate Professor
 Early America
• History of Sexuality
• Slavery and Slaving in the Atlantic World

520 Hamilton Hall │ sweet@unc.edu


Talbert2014picRichard J. A. Talbert

William Rand Kenan, Jr. Professor
Ancient History, Roman
• Cartography and Worldview

516 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.3942 │ talbert@email.unc.edu


Tasar PhotoEren Tasar

Assistant Professor
Central Asia
• Religion and Politics

464 Hamilton Hall │ etasar@email.unc.edu

 


Michael Tsin

Associate Professor
Modern China
• Colonialism and Post-colonialism
• Cultural Studies

460 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.5554 │ tsin@email.unc.edu


Turk photoKatherine Turk

Assistant Professor
Women, Gender, and Sexuality
• United States Legal and Political History
• Social Movements

500 Hamilton Hall │ kturk@email.unc.edu


Zaragosa Vargas

Kenan Eminent Professor
• Latino History
• American Labor History
• Twentieth-century American History

454 Hamilton Hall │ zvargas@email.unc.edu


Benjamin C. Waterhouse

Assistant Professor
Twentieth-century American History
• Political Economy and Capitalism

422 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.2373 │ waterhou@email.unc.edu


Watson photo smallHarry L. Watson

Atlanta Alumni Distinguished Professor of Southern Culture
• United States, 1789–1865
• North Carolina and the Antebellum South

568 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.0977 │ hwatson@email.unc.edu


Brett E. Whalen

Associate Professor
Medieval Christian Religious Culture
• The Papacy in the Middle Ages
• Apocalyptic Thought and Theology of History

457 Hamilton Hall │ 919.962.2383 │ bwhalen@email.unc.edu


MWheadshot8Molly Worthen

Assistant Professor
North American Culture and Politics
• World Christianity 

506 Hamilton Hall │ mworthen@unc.edu

 


 

Print Friendly